Lovely London Eateries

I’ve been working in London for the last few months and will be for most of the Summer.  There are plenty of downsides to this.  First, crowded tubes where politeness is left on the platform. Next, streets covered with meandering tourists which make any walk twice as long as it needs to be. Onwards to the noisy buses, car, taxis beeping beeping and beeping.  Not have as bad as Cairo or Mumbai but enough to deafen the calm in my mind.  But for every downside, there is a wonderful upside and one that always springs to mind is the fact that almost every corner houses an amazing place to eat.  London truly has great food for whatever you’re in the mood for. Here are the ones I’ve visited with my camera handy.

Most recently Pho – Vietnamese street food restaurant in Great Titchfield Street, close to Oxford Circus.  I’ve been in for a quick lunch and a lazy dinner. It suits most moods and budgets.

Copyright Urvashi Roe_pho-19

Pho

Dishoom is one of my favourite places.  It just feels like home.  My husband and I usually find our way here either at the beginning or end of a night out.  Sadly they’ve removed the low seating in the bar area downstairs but the buzzy atmosphere never fails to put us in a good mood.

Copyright Urvashi Roe_dishoom-4

Lobster Tail at Dishoom

Duck Soup Soho was a raved about on so many blogs and is thoroughly worth a visit – for the natural wine list alone. My payday treat is their lunchtime special which is an exceptionally well cooked plate of something ‘foodie’ with a glass of vino.

Duck Soup Soho, London, April 2012

Beetroot and Pistachio with Sourdough Toast at Duck Soup soho

Finally Jose in Bermondsey.  I’ve popped in a few times when I’ve had meetings that side of London.  Again you can dwell for a long chat and lovely, well priced nibbles with a great range of Spanish wines or just pop in for that Padron pepper craving – maybe it’s just me who gets those?!

Copyright Urvashi Roe_Jose 28012012-2

Padron Peppers at Jose

As you can see, it’s not an exhaustive list.  Which ones would you recommend?  What’s your favourite ‘go-back-to-time-and-time-again’ place? Do leave a comment below – it’s going to be a long summer!

16 responses to “Lovely London Eateries

  1. Wow – awesome photography – nice!

    Like this

  2. Beautiful photos, Urvashi. I haven’t been to London since the 1980s so can make no recommendations.

    Like this

  3. Those padron peppers look good! Don’t get to London very often, but last time we visited Ottolenghi (on the strength of the cookbook) and had a take out box of their salads – best I’ve ever tasted.

    Like this

  4. Loved your full review on Pho- have bookmarked to try that when we next visit. We went to Gilgamesh back in Feb for their lunchtime menu and it was delightful; the egg with chilli dish was just superb!

    Like this

  5. I LOVE Pho on Gt Titchfield St. Last year when I should have been writing a balanced piece on numerous eateries I went on and one about Pho. I also really like Viet – amazing veggie-stuffed pancakes with a tableful of spicy sauces to go with it. Up here in Edinburgh we are very good for restaurants these days, but smaller, kind of healthy fastfood places, not so good. I would love a franchise of Pho up here. And I have always wanted to try Dishoom. You are making me hungry!

    Like this

  6. Ooh lovely, I would love to go to Jose. I like going to The Scandi Kitchen, quite central near Oxford Street. Must try your places. x

    Like this

  7. These are new ones on me but I do have my favs in London and one I keep harping on about is SAF – raw foods cafe and cocktail bar (believe they also have yoga classes) and I always love Ottolenghi plus hard great reports of The Wild Foods Cafe in Neal’s yard. Enjoy the farmer’s market at the Cyrstal Palace and enjoyed the Cheese restaurant on the corner of Spitalfields market….. loved the book Secret London (Time out?) for loads of strange and interesting spots – enjoy!

    Like this

  8. For a relaxed japanese meal, I like to go again and again to Taro San on Old Compton Street. Lovely bentos!
    And there is a pub in Rathbone place that I really like called Jerusalem. Proper restaurant food for lunch time but not expensive.

    Like this

    • I love Taro San from the lovely town of Kumamoto. I once taught a a group of children from there so this is a reminiscent place for me. Natzukashee as they say!

      Like this

I love reading your comments. Thanks so much for taking time to leave one

