My Little Blueberry Thieves!

We’ve had our blueberry plants for a few years now.  They were some of the first we ever grew from seeds.  Such a labour of love growing the seedlings on the windowsill, transplanting them into bigger and bigger pots and then finally seeing the fruit.  They didn’t yield much fruit at all for a couple of years and then we got these gorgeous clusters of deep, blue berries which were tart and sweet depending on how long we dared to leave them.

blueberry

Our lovely blueberry plant

Where did all the berries go?

I was disappointed that there wasn’t as much fruit as I thought there would be.  We put netting on the big clusters hoping to deter the cat, birds or fox.   I was convinced it must be some night prowler! It was only by chance that I discovered  the two cheeky little culprits – with blueberry stained mouths – lifting the lower leaves up to reach the hidden gems!  I tried very hard to reprimand them for their sneakiness but they were too cute and giggly to be cross with.    They do love their blueberries!

A bumber crop

This year we’ve had a bumper crop and if you’d like to have a go, I’d thoroughly recommend them.  Our’s are in large pots though I think we’ll need to split the plants this year as they’ve got a bit big.

Some blueberry recipe inspiration

To be honest, we’ve mainly eaten these lovely berries raw – especially as our good natured thieves have been very sharing of their spoils.  They are super rich in Vitamin C and antioxidants so the girls can eat as many as they like.  I also always feel such an enormous sense of satisfaction that all the nurturing results in such a happy memories for our family.  

Blueberries are so fabulous for baking with as they keep their shape – especially if you use them from frozen.  I buy them when they are over ripe at the market or supermarket (and being sold off cheap!) and pop them in the freezer straight away.  You can use them from frozen in any of the recipes below.  Just click on the image to link through.

Simple Blueberry and Lemon Muffins

This a a staple breakfast on a Saturday morning.  Takes just half an hour from start to finish and perfect for a little afternoon tea later in the day too.

blueberry muffins

Super Easy Blueberry and Lemon Muffins

Coconut and Blueberry Tart

I love the combination of coconut with blueberries.  This works really well hot or cold, served with coconut yoghurt or ice cream.

Quick Coconut and Blueberry Tart

Blueberry and Pecan Frangipanes

I usually have some leftover frangipane mixture from the tart above and so I pop it into some loose-bottomed tart cases with whatever fruit there is lying around.  Super easy and they actually improve over a couple of days.

Copyright_Blueberry And pecan Frangipane Cake

Simple and quick frangipanes for breakfast or afternoon tea

What’s your favourite blueberry bake? Any tips on using or growing them?

17 responses to “My Little Blueberry Thieves!

  1. Tracey Todhunter

    I shall be trying the blueberry and coconut tart. It looks delicious

    Like

  2. Having to wait a few years while your plants mature makes the fruit taste all the better – provided you can get the to fruit before anyone else does! I tried making blueberry turnovers with a sweet, semolina flour pastry earlier this week, but the pastry was a bit tough so I’ll need to try it again. In the mean time I think I’ll be making your blueberry and lemon muffins, given that blueberries are a ‘superfood’ the muffins must pretty much count as a healthy breakfast!

    Like

  3. The Blueberry Thieves … great name for a food-themed book! Lovely post and inspirational, too. I’ve never thought of growing blueberries, but it’s now on the to-do list with the new garden i’ve just acquired. And i agree, growing a fruit or a vegetable from scratch – watching it grow, nurturing it – is a very fulfilling experience. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    Like

  4. I love blueberries too. It would be great to try to grow some next year. I love to eat them straight from the freezer. Buying them cheap in the supermarket and freezing is the best!

    They are yummy in protein smoothies.

    Like

  5. I have to admit I’d never even thought of growing blueberries but this post has really inspired me to give it a go. I love the look of that blueberry and coconut tart!

    Like

  6. gorgeous post. maybe next year my raspberry plant may surprise me with a bumper crop! fingers crossed!

    Like

    • Thanks Lauren. I was looking at a raspberry plant the other day. Did you grow your’s from seed or a seedling? Does it get infested with little flies? My friend’s did and that put me off.

      Like

      • Hi urvashi. I got mine from a friend as a seedling. It’s 2 years old now and it’s not giving much fruit but it’s pretty healthy. I was watching a programme on bbc (can’t remember the name – very bohemian, gardening lady) and she recommended cutting berries right back to encourage them to grow and now to become depleted. Maybe we’ve been lucky and not had any flies on the raspberries. I’ve had plenty of other mini beasts devouring the garden (including the cat!) but the raspberries are one thing that have survived the lot! Good luck if you buy one :)

        Like

  7. i wished i had a blueberry plant! we went blueberry picking last weekend and had so much fun. been trying to figure out what to make with the blueberries we bought home…maybe one of these delicious looking recipes.

    Like

  8. I’ve grown a few blueberries this year for the first time so I’m happy to see some lovely recipe inspiration :)

    Like

I love reading your comments. Thanks so much for taking time to leave one

