Time for Breakfast Club

Do you eat breakfast? I used to have nothing more than a cup of tea. I found it very difficult to eat that early in the morning but over the years I’ve learned to make breakfast the one ‘meal’ to get right.

The healthiest meal of the day?

Breakfast literally means ‘breaking the fast’ after a good night’s sleep. Most people do not eat for up to 12 hours between the time they’ve had their evening meal to something on the morning of the the following day. During this time energy levels fall and so that first ‘meal’ is the most important as it supplies our bodies and brains with the necessary nutrients after a night’s sleep. Logically that makes sense to me and that’s why I make an effort to have more than a cuppa tea.

Does it make a difference to your weight?

Thankfully I don’t put on weight easily but some of my friends have noticed they did when they didn’t eat breakfast every day. This is because their bodies entered ‘starvation mode’. Their bodies were trying to conserve energy. This can reduce metabolism which in turn can cause an increase of 3kg a year. I’ve read similar ‘facts’ to this but I think everyone is different and what kick starts my metabolism might not be great for your’s! Read more breakfast facts.

The hardest meal of the day for me!

For me breakfast is definitely the hardest meal of the day. I’m not a morning person. I have to be really organised the evening before to make sure I eat something and my girls eat the right things too to fuel their little developing bodies and brains til break or lunchtime.

I tend to have toast, like this tasty Sourdough from my local baker – Holtwhites Bakery and a piece of fruit or jam.

@holtwhitesbaker Sourdough with lashings if Danish butter

Sourdough Toast oozing with butter or honey

Or Bircher Muesli with dried fruits if I’m extra hungry or have a bit more time.

Simple Bircher Muesli #Breakfast with @rachelsorganic and @nz_honey_co beech forest honey

Bircher Muesli with Strawberries

And sometimes cake!

apricot breakfast muffins

Apricot Muffins

Fruit features highly in my breakfasts

Whether it’s dried or fresh, I like to get a couple of portions out of the way in the morning. So when Helen at FussFreeFlavours blog asked me if I wanted to host her Breakfast Club Blog Hop one month, I thought the theme of fruit would be most apt.

Fuss free flavours breakfast club

What do you have to do?

To take part, simply make a breakfast encompassing fresh or dried fruit and write about it on your blog.

  • Mention Breakfast Club in your post and use the logo above.
  • Link to http://fussfreeflavours.com/breakfast-club and to this page.
  • Add a link to your blog post in a comment below.
  • If you tweet please tweet using #blogbreakfastclub. I’ll retweet any I see.
  • If you do not have a blog send a photo and details to me : thebotanicalbaker@hotmail.co.uk
  • Entries must be in by 30th September 2012.

A beautiful breakfast hamper for the winning entry

I’m supporting Better Breakfast Week this year which runs from 24th – 30th september. The lovely people behind the campaign have kindly donated a breakfast hamper for the winning entry. They will choose their favourite and send you the goodies directly :-)

So please enter and post lots of fruity inspiration for sleepy morning heads like me! Please also feel free to leave any breakfast tips or time saving advice :-)

20120903-101427.jpg

32 responses to “Time for Breakfast Club

  1. I have some breakfast muffins in the oven right now, if they turn out OK I will write about them.

    Like this

  2. Excellent theme this month, I made some fruity muffins last night to have for breakfast this week. Will definitely be adding them to this challenge soon!

    Like this

  3. I always eat breakfast, but never straight away. Usually about an hour after getting up. But, I always make sure it’s healthy and delicious. My favourite is bananas with yoghurt and topped with nuts followed by a large mug of tea!

    Like this

  4. Made my peach and granola muffins and they turned out well, so here is the link…http://notjustanyoldbaking.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/peach-and-granola-breakfast-muffins.html

    Sue. x

    Like this

  5. I love fresh fruit with a handful of muesli and a big dollop of fat free Greek yoghurt. If I don’t eat it I end up reaching for the biscuit tin at 11am!

    Like this

  6. Pingback: Chocolate Cherry Granola Parfait with Banana « the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake!

  7. Pingback: Late Summer Fruit Salad | Fabulicious Food

  8. Hi Urvashi. I’ve made extra moist blueberry muffins which are one of my favourites. I’m always looking for breakfast ideas too especially ones you can eat on the go – muffins and flapjacks are top of my list!
    http://themorethanoccasionalbaker.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/extra-moist-blueberry-muffins.html

    Like this

  9. The banana and chocolate muffins I recently are perfect (i think) for my 1st entry. Here they are…
    http://www.sweethartscakesandbakes.com/2012/09/banana-and-chocolate-chip-muffins.html#.UFBtuo1lR9B

    Like this

  10. Hi! I have another recipe for breakfast club. Hope that’s ok. It’s a savoury one this time – bacon, Brie and fig muffin. Absolutely delicious! http://themorethanoccasionalbaker.blogspot.com/2012/09/bacon-brie-and-fig-muffins.html

    Like this

  11. Fruit is a really important part of our breakfast. We don’t have much, but I find it really hard to eat breakfast if I haven’t started with a piece of fruit before I eat anything else. AND that is only possible if I’ve had a cup of hot water first.

    Like this

    • Just noticed this comment sorry. Do you put lemon and ginger into your hot water? My mum does every morning. I can’t bring myself to have that though. I need my cuppa english breakfast!

      Like this

  12. Pingback: Planting Fruit Trees « The Garden Deli

  13. Hi Urvashi, lots of great recipes already! Can I add a link to my plum and lemon verbena compote and join the breakfast club?

    http://thegardendeli.wordpress.com/2012/09/21/planting-fruit-trees/

    Like this

  14. Pingback: Recipe:Berry & Beetroot Smoothie | Fuss Free Flavours

  15. Pingback: A Burst of Baobab For Breakfast | The Botanical Baker

I love reading your comments. Thanks so much for taking time to leave one

