An Interview with Eric Lanlard

It’s not everyday that you meet a Master Pâtissier – let alone one as busy as Eric Lanlard.

A Masterclass with Eric Lanlard

The Master Patissier at Cake Boy

I was fortunate enough to attend a wonderful masterclass with him at his boutique shop Cake Boy in South West London.  It was a great afternoon with some great sweet and savoury treats all using Neilsen Massey Vanilla.

A Masterclass with Eric Lanlard

White Chocolate Cup with Vanilla Bavarois

Eric was charming and as you would expect incredibly knowledgeable about all things baking.  It was more his aspirations I was interested in and to get an insight into his true personality, I probed with a few questions not entirely related to baking.  I was delighted to know we share a hero in Catherine Deneuve.  For me she is just the manifestation of the word elegance in every way and Eric noted her as one of his perfect dinner party guests.

Read my full interview

I’ve been a fan of Eric’s baking and his glamorous cupcake creations never cease to amaze me.  He’s published a lot of books to date but I think it’s his latest one which I really took a shine to.  It’s all about pastry.

tart it up eric lanlard

Read my full book review

Thank you to Eric for taking the time to answer my questions and inspiring me with your wonderful creations.

Meet Eric this December

If you’re a fan of Eric’s, he’ll be bringing a slice of his Cake Boy boutique to GILT Cocktail Lounge at Jumeirah Carlton Tower in London on 14  and 15 December 2012.  The pop-up shop will be open from 11am-4pm and he’ll be there signing copies of Tart It Up!’.  You can also indulge at the hotel’s Chinoiserie Tea Room with his  “I Love Paris” afternoon tea for £40 per person.

Well that’s my birthday treat sorted then!

11 responses to “An Interview with Eric Lanlard

  1. glamorous glutton

    Must have been a fab day, I’m really envious. GG

    Like this

  2. I’ve been cooking from ‘Home Bake’, so it was really good to read your interview about the man behind the recipes.

    Like this

  3. He looks like he could be in the front row of a rugby team and yet he turns out delicate patisserie. I’ve heard nothing but good about this book.

    Like this

  4. Brilliant interview Urvashi! I would love the meet the man himself or even work a day for him. I’d do it for free…or no, I take that back, I’d work for cake ;-)

    Like this

  5. Pingback: Vanilla – A Labour of Love | The Botanical Baker

I love reading your comments. Thanks so much for taking time to leave one

